Thursday, April 21, 2011


Capital: Mamoudzou
Official Language: French
Area: 374 km2 (144 sq mi)
Population: 194.000
Currency: Euro

France bought the Comoro archipelago from the king of Madagascar in 1841. In 1975 the other islands choose to become independent. But Mayotte wanted to be part of France, and since March 31, 2011 they are indeed fully incorporated as the 101st department of France. So the European Union has become a tiny bit larger!

next episode: a passed on royal fiancée 

1 comment:

  1. Thanks, Rob. I had never heard of this island before today. How interesting!


I love to read your remarks and suggestions!

Please don't comment using the name 'Anonymous', because unfortunately these will end up in the spam department, due to the large bots leaving anonymous comments with questionable links...

Also don't use links that refer to commercial sites, this is spam (and me no likey spam)!


Gadgets By Spice Up Your Blog Real Time Web Analytics